h1

Florida or BUST

October 2, 2011

“Man I am going to miss being there this year.” Curt said over dinner Saturday night. He was referring to our annual pilgrimage to Panama City Beach for IMFL. Throughout the past few years one of us has done it. I tend to hit the Gulf Coast triathlon in May as well so between those I have often hit it twice a year.

It’s beautiful, it’s cheap and it’s become our home away from home. We tend to stay at the Days Inn, where the front desk staff knows us. Yes, the Redneck Riviera is our place. I know it by heart, the little places to go hike, the fifty meter salt water pool, the stretch of white sandy beaches.

Rosemary Beach.

And I know where every Starbucks is (that’s for you Charlie).

I have a bunch of friends and teammates racing, I agreed with his sentiment. Luc mentioned that he always gets to spend his birthday in Florida.

Spoiled.

“I have a voucher from when I got bumped from a flight  last year.” I reminded him. I have flights to book for the year but heck…… those would be solo flights. This would be a family trip. Quickly I pulled out my phone and looked up Southwest Airlines. I smiled. This would work.

An hour later our trip was booked. Wednesday through Tuesday we will be on the beach. Saturday we will be on the course with our rented scooters and the egg-a-phone screaming for our pals. We always said we wanted to take a non triathlon vacation. We are just watching this time. Not competing. That still counts.

I dreamt of the beach last night. I dreamt that I would be in Panama City Beach to run and swim as I will be in the thick of marathon training. Long run from the hotel through to the park….. I already have it planned in my mind. Daily swims at the aquatic center, a fifty meter saline pool. As much coffee as I want to drink.

And the best part………………. WAFFLE HOUSE. Team breakfast with Kelly, Shaun, Ken, Charlie….. the whole gang will be there.

Now that I think of it too….. click here for my Panama City Beach recommendations.

I woke up this morning…… I can’t believe we did that….. I told Curt. It was nice to be able to book a spontaneous family trip. Knowing everything in Panama City Beach, having a big airline voucher allow for that to be easier. I am beyond thankful.

Then I realized that for the next 12 months there are only two when I am not traveling. A good problem to have.

So if you will be in Panama City Beach for Ironman florida….. warning….. Team Eggers will be there. On our scooters. At Waffle House. All over the beach. And at Wal Mart. It’s the only Wal Mart in the country I will go to. We will be at the miniature golf course, at Ripley’s (the big sinking ship…. you will know what I mean when you see it!), and riding those crazy go karts. And of course providing live updates of Ironman Florida!

Warning: we will be everywhere. It’s our town baby!

Now I just have to figure out how I am going to get the egg-a-phone past TSA.

 

2 comments

  1. Sounds like you are ready for some FUN! Have a great trip 🙂


  2. awesome! during summer that’s the busiest freakin Walmart in the world… I’m bringing my hybrid. Plan on putting some time in the saddle 😉



Leave a Reply

