h1

QT2 Holiday Juicing Challenge Update

December 5, 2011

It’s been over a week since Jesse launched our QT2 juicing challenge. The challenge is to create one juice a day through the holidays. You can use a juicer to make actual juice, I also accept the Magic Bullet to make fruit smoothies.

The number one comment I am getting is this: but it takes sooooo much to create one simple juice.

True.

Here is how much we’ve needed to create about a liter of juice.

But look at the ingredients of this particular juice (from above). Apples, Kale, ginger.

Here is the ingredient list of a store-bought juice.

If you buy your fruits and veggies right, the cost doesn’t have to be extravagant. When athletes tell me they can’t afford good nutrition …. I point out that they can afford a bike that’s worth 5K, for a $700 Ironman race but won’t invest in their health, when their health is the most important part of that equation. Yes, I agree…. it’s ridiculous that things like candy bars are so affordable and the good food is expensive. It doesn’t have to be expensive though…. as long as you are willing to do some footwork.I am not rich…. I am just willing to do the footwork. (Lose your health once and that becomes all the mojo you need.)

Check out your local food co-op, hit a farmer’s market, there are good prices on locally grown produce, especially around here.

If you live in Rochester I suggest three:

1. Breathe Yoga (this is where I teach) offers a program through the Good Food Collective here in Rochester. The produce is organic and locally grown when possible, and it’s picked up right at Breathe on a weekly basis. Not only that but you are given recipes and ideas for everything you pick up. Information for this is right here.

2. Rochester’s Public  Market: Want something fun to do on a Saturday? This is a MUST……. “Rochester’s Public Market has served the community since 1905. Bargains abound Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday, 52 weeks a year. Local vendors offer their fresh produce, ethnic delicacies, specialty items, and so much more. In addition, an array of independent local businesses are anchored on Market grounds and in the surrounding Market District.” Information for this is right here.

3. Abundance Cooperative Market: Food Co-ops are widely misunderstood,  you can become a shareholder, or not…. but it’s a place where those passionate about good quality food come together. For more information on this click here.

The second comment I have been getting about juicing is the waste of the produce used. Yes, there is a fair amount of waste. I have the Breville juicer and I do not find it hard to clean at all by the way.

This is the waste from the above juice. We happen to be composters…..  so this all goes right into our compost (omg what tree huggers we are!)

So this doesn’t all have to go into the garbage. Composting is ridiculously easy, but that’s another post  for another day.

The third comment… I guess this would be a question …. I get is….. where are the recipes? Juicing is really unique in that you can truthfully juice anything (except M&M’s…. I tried). So think about what you like, and then move up from there.

Here are some of our favorites:

The Mary Special

Apples, Kale, Ginger, Mango

The Curt Special:

Apples, Kale, Celery, Ginger, pomegranate…….. and just about anything.

Here are a few from Jesse:

Apple/Ginger Juice
2 apples
1/2 lemon
1/2″ of ginger root
1/2 cup of cranberry

Red Stuff Juice
12 plum tomatoes
1 apple
1 cup of cranberry
1 beet

Triathlete Juice
1 beet
2 cups of kale
1 head of romaine
1/2 lemon
1/2 inch of ginger root

Carrot/Garlic
2 cups of baby cut carrots
1 cup of broccoli
1-2 cloves of garlic (Not too much…this packs quite a punch!)

How are you doing on the holiday juicing challenge? Have a recipe or thought to share? You can:

1. Leave me a comment (because many comments I get are a very personal nature I don’t publish many of them, but I will respond)

2. Email me: mary “at” qt2systems “dot” com

3. Find me on Twitter, there is a button on the top left column, or on FaceBook.

I would love to hear some recipes, thoughts, comments, and especially how you are feeling!

Juice on!

3 comments

  1. Mary, here’s my favorite mid-day pick-me-up:

    1 whole pink grapefruit
    1 whole tart apple
    1/2 cup cranberries
    1/2″ ginger
    Ice
    (maybe a splash of water or juice, for a little liquid)

    put into vita-mix………………….. !!!


    • I need to read up on this vitamix!


  2. i’m starting my first juice of the month tonight!! spinach/celery/carrots/beet/apple 😉



Leave a Reply

