h1

A look ahead

December 29, 2011

Don’t forget, we are riding tonight at Bert’s Bikes in Henrietta! 6:30 is the time! Bring a heart rate monitor if you have one, I will bring the tubing and the TRX and we will do some circuit training tonight! Need a trainer? Give them a call! Click here for the details! Don’t forget, it’s free! And stay tuned as we are about to list our triathlon clinic dates!

Ahhhhhhh, 2012 is on the horizon.

I am excited for 2012. Even if the world does end, it’s been one hell of a ride. 2011 was an incredible year for me on many levels. If you had told me a year ago I would have left my own coaching business and joined this elite group of coaches at QT2, I would never have believed you. Truthfully I was too distracted because of the business aspect of everything to even notice.

Through the past month a few things dawned on me about this move. While we were at the QT2 coaching meeting two weeks ago the feeling in that room was amazing. I am part of an incredible team. During the week I am in constant contact with the other coaches (especially Wheeler, poor kid) and Jesse. I’ve never known what it’s like to be part of something like this, as I have always been a one woman show.When we were together in December I felt like the new kid on the block in a very amazing family. I truly feel like my own coaching is a team effort. I feel like I am really able to bring my energies into coaching and my athletes.

The second thing that dawned on me about this move…. is the focus it has brought to my own training. I coach in the same system I train in, my thoughts while training are on training…. not about taxes and insurance and the nuances of small business ownership. I have always known that distraction has pulled from my abilities as an athlete, now I am seeing it start to really come together. 2012 is looking to be a good year for me on the athlete side.

In just 5 weeks we will descend on sunny Florida (hear that weather…… I said sunny) to spend four days swimming, biking and running with our athletes. If you are interested in joining us by the way click right here. You don’t have to be an athlete of ours to join us, you will be treated like you are one of us. I attended this camp as an athlete last year and it was a very worthwhile investment. Now I get to go as a coach and torture Jennie from the deck. Of the coaches get our own training in……  but what we will give to our athletes during this will be incredible. Come with us and you will not be sorry!

About 5 weeks after that we will descend on Galveston Texas as a team as we take on Texas 70.3. We’ve got some good performances up our sleeves from our athletes, so keep your eyes peeled for that.

It’s busy, that’s for sure. I work hard to maintain the work life balance and often times find it to be more of an integration than a balance. None of what I do would even be possible without my husband Curt. I know I don’t write about him a lot…. part of that is because if he wanted his life detailed on a blog he would have one. I try to respect his privacy. The other part of that is that I don’t want to share him.

Living in a mutlsiport family has challenges but they are good challenges. When I hear that one spouse if off on their group ride while the other is home steaming about it, it’s hard for me to comprehend. We respect one another and our passions and I think that’s been the key to our longevity thus far. I far from the perfect wife but I can say this about him…… he’s a damn good man. He reminds me when I load my plate too full, which is one of my worst habits. He supports me through the major changes in life…… when I asked him if I should leave my company and join QT2 his reaction was immediate. “You’d be a fool not to.”

He’s patient with my endless traveling, he listens to my dreams, my defeats and everything in between. I always hope I am 1/8th of the spouse to him that he is to me,

Ahhhhh… I have shared too much.

2012 looks to be a good year, and that’s an understatement. I am not one to make resolutions, but I am one to celebrate the wiping of the slate clean, a new start for those who need one and continued success found through hard work for others.

Fasten your seat belts. Here we go.

 

Leave a Reply

