h1

Food Log; A Day In The Core Diet

January 11, 2012

As you know I am a big proponent of The Core Diet. It’s part of what we do here at QT2. You’ll hear many of us use terms like “Gotta get in the Core” or “Workout window” and things like that. What I like about The Core Diet is that it’s really not a diet. It’s a healthy way of eating that teaches us to utilize foods to help us fuel our bodies and restore our bodies. It’s not Atkins, it’s not some fad type, it’s not full of shakes and supplements.

In a nutshell it’s this:

1. Four fruits a day

2. Four veggies a day

3. Place most grains in the 60 minutes before your workout to utilize the carbohydrates for your training.

4. Fuel every single workout. Please note this does NOT say MEGA FUEL. It just says fuel.

5. Utilize the window after every workout as a time to replenish.

6. Eat food in it’s most original form

7. Eat frequently (this prevents energy crashes throughout the day).

It’s really that simple.

Our 1:1 athletes work closely with a Registered Dietician. Our Mission Plan athletes are able to add-on the Core Diet services as they wish, we have a lot of flexibility to our programs as you know. Our RD’s set up daily nutritional guidelines, establish goals for healthy weight loss if needed, and create a personalized fueling plan.

Simple. That’s it.

I have felt great the two years I have eaten in the Core, and except for the three major illness I have had in the past 2 years I am rarely sick at all. Seems when I am…. I just go big. Bone infections, etc. Whatever!

What’s a day like living in the Core? I am currently on a recovery week, so here is a typical day on a complete day off (which we do about 1-2 times a month). I tend to not have much time to write down what I eat, so I am in the habit of taking a picture. At the end of the day I simply review, delete and move on!

Breakfast:  Whey protein with a banana. I mix these guys up in the magic bullet. And coffee of course (not pictured)

Morning snack: Greek yogurt, normally I would add some fruit, but I forgot. Today I tried the new Blonde roast from Starbucks. Light but smooth!

Lunch: I got this amazing soup from Breathe: Tomato based vegetable. There was kale, carrots and a whole bunch of veggies in there.

Afternoon snack: Another protein shake with fruit, normally I do something veggie-ish but had an afternoon meeting. NOT PICTURED! GASP!

I try to drink 2 Nalgeine bottles of warm water  with lemon per day. (not pictured)  Sometimes I add in some red pepper flakes, which sounds odd but is AWESOME!

Dinner: I did breakfast for dinner today with 1 egg, 1 egg white and some broccoli.

I was probably heavy on the protein today, but you learn to go more one day and lighter the next if need be.

Today I will do some grocery shopping and show you what a typical cart in the Core looks like, and I have a heavier training day today (Wednesday) so I will post another food log on friday!

3 comments

  1. I love your blog, Mary!

    Thought I would suggest using Hemp, flax, and chia as protein sources. Typically, Whey is processed and may contain artificial ingredients or fillers. Hemp, chia and ground whole flax are excellent complete protein sources and have fiber, omega-3s , and loads of vitamins and antioxidants. We use them daily, and love them.
    I know many athletes love their whey, but the alternatives are effective, clean, and cruelty- free whole foods.

    Happy training!


  2. I completely agree, try using Hemp. I sprinkle hemp seed on salads, you can get it in the organic food section at Wegmans. Also, nut butters are nice too 🙂


    • Beautiful and great points! Believe it or not…. I can’t do hemp….. I think the take home point is that nutrition is just like training….individual. and ill follow up to all this Friday!



Leave a Reply

