h1

Duel in the Pool….. Let’s Roll

March 20, 2012

Welcome to the kick off… of the Kick off!!! (ha ha! GET IT!)

Today we are kicking off the Eggers vs Armstrong Duel in the pool! Proceeds are going to Teens Living With Cancer and Livestrong. And yes, I am racing the one and only 7 time Tour De France Champion, Lance Armstrong. (Dear God, can you hear me? It’s me….. Mary….)

Here is the scoop:

On Saturday April 28th our actual race will be an invitation only event (hold on, it gets better). The invited are the Teens of Teens Living With Cancer from Rochester….. and from Buffalo. Teens from Buffalo? Yes Buffalo….. hang on! Media will also be invited.

I will race Mr. Armstrong in a 50 yard kick off. There will be a gag order on the results of the race!!!! WHAT? Yes, GAG order. No one will be allowed to tell.

The race will be filmed by the University at Buffalo production crew. The results will be revealed at the end of Lance Armstrong’s speech that evening.

THEY are the WHY

WHY.

Mr. Armstrong’s time is extremely limited. And when I say extremely I mean it. We are working on a VERY small timeline.  Also we didn’t want to detract from the speech and sway ticket sales. The arena in which he is speaking holds thousands, the pool might hold 200. This way no one gets turned away, we promote ticket sales to his speech, and most importantly, our teens get to spend time with a really great man.

Think about it…… isn’t that the way this event should be? We know everyone wants to see and meet him….. but don’t you think the Teens should have a little VIP status? We will all see him up close and personal at his speech that evening. Let’s put them first.

The awesome part

Not only did LiveStrong embrace us…… Roswell park Cancer Institute, located in Buffalo welcomed us . The dialogue got going between Teens Living With Cancer and Roswell and a beautiful thing happened. Thanks to Lance and LiveStrong we are bringing a chapter of TLC to Roswell. We will share the money raised and teens in Buffalo will have a program expanded upon what is done here in Rochester!!

Hence….. the teens from Buffalo bring invited to the swim off!!!!!!!!

LiveStrong therefore is helping bring Western New York, Rochester and Buffalo together in the support of Teens Living With Cancer. THANK YOU LIVESTRONG!

As I am writing this I am crying. THIS IS WHAT I MEAN WHEN I SAY COMMUNITY. Silly old me Tweets Lance Armstrong. Who accepts. The University at Buffalo, Roswell Park Cancer Institute and Teens Living With Cancer connect and come up with something bigger than raising money (although we will be!).

This partnership…… it brings the support that is needed for our Teens who battle Cancer further than just Rochester. DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT THAT MEANS????????

Ten years ago a 19-year-old girl, on her deathbed looked at her mother and said……  make it better. And through these ten years Lauren has, and now…… that message and that mission is spreading. It’s spreading like wildfire Melissa. Wildfire.

You can begin donating right this very minute. When I challenged Lance Armstrong, he challenged me right back. “Let’s rasie 100K” he told me. I didn’t sleep for three days. 100K is a lot of money. community…… we can do this.

To donate click here.

To attend the  speech buy your ticket right here.

To say this has been an experience is an understatement. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I sent that tweet, I certainly never expected a response. So many wonderful people have reached out. A few of the partnerships I had hoped would be established did, and some didn’t. Luckily I think everyone is allowing themselves to be guided by the WHY of all of this.

If you think about it, this all has the opportunity to get very political. Luckily it isn’t, or maybe we are just good at not allowing it to be. This is not about a race, it’s not about who will win. This is about bringing the awareness and the ability to support Teens Living With Cancer to Western New York in partnerships and funding.

What were you doing when you were 13? Were you battling Cancer? I wasn’t. I was having enough trouble being a teenager. Would I have had the courage these teens have? I don’t know. But they are the strongest kids i have ever met in my whole life.

They are the why. And the promise that was made to Melissa. To make it better.

By donating, you make it better. By coming to the speech, you make it better.

So let’s do this friends. We are all on the starting block and our toes are curled over the edge. The gun has been in the air for about a week now, we are gripping the sides of the block and waiting. Waiting waiting.

Go. It’s go time. Let’s make this happen.

Special thanks to the following people for working so hard to make this happen:

Lauren Spiker, Matthew Sengbush, Roswell Park, University of Buffalo, LiveStrong… there are so many more to come, but we thank all of you from the bottom of our hearts.

PS: Tomorrow…… I will reveal the amazing suit that the one and only Kristin Mayer of Betty Designs and Splish created for this event!!!!

Leave a Reply

