h1

Armstrong Speaks: “I’m Scared”

April 1, 2012

I love it here in Galveston. I am in a good place emotionally and physically. Each athlete I pass had that pensive look on their face and I feel more relaxed and up beat than I have ever been. Perhaps it’s because I know as an early season race I will have some rust. Perhaps it’s because I don’t have the pressure of qualifying for Vegas (done!). Perhaps I am insanely excited for Jennie’s first pro race. Or because it’s been a while since I have been at a QT2 focus race. I love spending time with these people.

Maybe it’s just where I have arrived in my athletic career. With what I have accomplished I feel this sense of contentment and this sense of…. what happens this season is truly for me. Right now I feel like the girl at this race with the biggest smile and the biggest feeling of … throw open my arms and have as much fun as possible. Because really, isn’t that what this is all about at the end of the day?

As I walked through athlete registration I just felt so damn happy. I get to do this… I get to be here…. I get this opportunity to swim and bike and run for half a day tomorrow. With a bunch of people and volunteers who are something awesome. I am so excited.

I racked my bike and hopped on over to the pro press panel. As I expected there was Lance Armstrong himself!!!! I stood in the back with my teammates Tim Snow and Charlie. Cait Snow was on one end and Lance was on the other. Each of the professionals gave some insight to their training, their racing and their causes. Many are using their platforms to make a difference in this world and I especially LOVE THAT!

At  the end of the press conference Cait Snow took the mic and asked if she could ask a question of Mr. Armstrong. “Lance you didn’t mention a little event you have coming up at the end of the month. A little Duel in the Pool? With Mary Eggers.”

“Ahhhhhh….. my friend Mary Eggers.” he said. I about died.

“She’s right there in the back in the QT2 shirt!” Cait cried out. Everyone turned to look at me and I really, really wished I could turn and run away. I waved and he smiled and he went on to describe to the crowd what the Duel in the Pool was and how it began.

“I was like… who IS this crazy lady from Buffalo?” He said. In some later remarks he went on to describe his worry about whether he was going to come to Buffalo and get lapped by me. He also went on to remind us that it would be a really fun event for a really great cause and that he was looking forward to the event.

“I’m scared.” He said. I knew it. I knew it Armstrong. And I also know how very serious he was about that statement.

On the way back to the parking lot I collected $20 more dollars in donations. THAT right there made me feel like I won. make me feel like WE won. That made me realize how wonderful it was that Mr. Armstrong had lent us his name. Just by him mentioning our Duel in the Pool people asked me about it. The Lance effect is big and it’s far-reaching. I am honored beyond belief that he’s chosen to help us.

So please, feel free to throw you $$ at me here in Texas, at home in Rochester, anywhere this season. Let’s not stop this effort. Let’s never stop this effort.

This morning I get to swim and bike and run. Like I have done for the past 15 years. Today though I am in a different place as an athlete. Rather than wanting to annihilate my competition I want to go out and have the most fun possible. So if you see a girl running around Texas in a bathing suit that reads “EGGERS VS. ARMSTRONG.” It’s me. Join in the party. And throw some money in!

6 comments

  1. We’re with you and the TLC crew all of the way.

    Hope you are having the time of your life! 🙂

    W & S


  2. Good luck today!!


  3. Bravo Mary!!! You already won!!!
    Sending love your way!!!Namaste!!!


  4. YOU GO GIRL! LOVE THIS!!!!!!


  5. Awesome Job yesterday! woohooo!!!!



Leave a Reply

