h1

Behind our scenes

July 27, 2012

I love this picture. It’s of Jennie and I after she crossed the finish line at Ironman Lake Placid (second female pro!). Read her race report right here, and you will understand why this is such an emotional moment.

Photograph by Charlie Abrahams

I also love this picture.

Photograph by Charlie Abrahams

And one more. My third favorite picture from Sunday. I don’t know why it’s so small. It’s Pat Wheeler, Jesse Kropelnicki and I. If Tim Snow was in this picture it would be complete.

Photograph by Charlie Abrahams

These are the guys who have taught me so much in the past year. I came to QT2 with seven years of experience but have learned more in the past 365 days than those seven years combined. I owe these guys a lot. I owe them more than a THANK YOU. They have helped me begin to become the coach I know I can be. Or at least begin down that path.

I can promise you one thing about QT2…. we are a team. We are not a group of coaches. We are a team. We have coaches calls. We have email chains to one another that would rival … just about anything. We stood on that hill together and we brought our athletes home (and others) because of one big reason.

We care.

I spoke with Jesse about how when you coach this in-depth, when you coach elite athletes….. your own performances may suffer. Quite honestly when I began coaching my performances slid a bit, this season I felt like they slid a lot, despite the time I put it. At the same time when you ask me who I care about more…. my performances or the performances of my athletes….. I care more about theirs. I am blessed to have done so much on my field. Nothing …. nothing in the world rivals what I feel when they achieve their goals and dreams. See the first picture of this blog to understand that.

I sh*t liquid all day at Ironman Lake Placid. It’s how I have always been. I do that for any big race. It’s not that I am not confident, or worried or …. or anything bad. It’s just because their performances are personal to me.

I essentially forewent my own season when I realized that Vegas was off the table for me….. but not gone. Not at all. I have taken some time to give myself that break that we should all take. At the same time I am focusing on running a fall marathon (I am almost up to 50 miles a week). In the meantime I am learning to strike that balance. I will never be a coach that doesn’t care with my heart and soul … about them and their performances. Never. I am just not wired that way.

And my step back is just temporary. I have two Ironmans on the docket for 2013!

I love what I do. I love being a coach. I love coaching with Qt2. EVERY DAY I am so grateful and honored they invited me to join the coaching team. They have become my friends, my family.

This picture is of some more of us. Tara, myself and Molly.

Things are going to pick up again as my traveling roadshow moves on this week!

This weekend I will be announcing at the Rochester Kids Triathlon (and “someone” will be competing).

I have my 20th high school reunion. Three day party!

Next week our long and storied battle with the school district will come to a resolution. It’s down to the wire.

I will be announcing at Summer Sizzler, Carly’s Club Crossing, hopefully heading to Ironman Mt. Tremblant…..

Coming soon: trips to Kona and Panama City Beach!

And that’s not even all of it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

