h1

The aftermath

October 30, 2012

All is good over here at Camp Eggers we got through the storm just fine. With one small leak in our roof and a chair that was blown across the lawn. Thus far our electricity has remained intact. My worst problem was that I was sick,and  if that was my worst problem I am a lucky girl.  The guys took good care of me. Again…… lucky.

My gratitude can’t be bigger right now as I read reports coming from the coast and the south. Houses are burning in a city I once called home. Hospital generators have failed but the medical teams have  heroically executed a plan. I am always amazed and not amazed at the same time…. how people come together in times like this.

Of course we would come together. That’s who we are in this world.

I hung out on facebook and twitter as they gave me such instant access to friends and family all over the east coast. Just a simple “We are without power, but ok.” was comforting. We did a QT2 coaches call in the evening and it was comforting just knowing that we were all okay,we  all live in different parts of the country.

I slept on the sofa bed with Luc, who was scared of the trees outside his bedroom window (legitimate), and for the first time in a long time I watched him sleep. If you have little ones right now watch how they move, how they stretch in their sleep. They do the same thing at age 11. I think I watched him sleep the entire night.

It’s a strange mix of feelings from gratitude to guilt. I have friends in NYC who are watching their houses burn to the ground, while I sit here in my Western New York home with one small leak. I have had that feeling often in my life. Survivor’s guilt is real.

I was going to teach a spooky frightening theme ride tonight at Cycledelic, but it just doesn’t seem appropriate with what some of my friends are enduring right now. So let me offer this…… let’s come together tonight, get on a bike, ride. We will be together and just ride. Class is at 5:45pm at Cycledelic. Sign up in advance, first ride is free. We have showers. I also teach on wed am at 5:30am, and can offer the same. Get out, take a break, break a sweat and be near your community.

When it comes down to it, at the end of the day….. what we have is each other. I think and often see … when offers of help are extended…… we close, turn away and shut down. We ask “Why do you want to help me? You don’t know me.”

Because we are neighbors in this world. And that’s what we do.

Be safe and be well. Let me know if you need anything.

2 comments

  1. I admire you so much Mary. Amen to feeling grateful… I feel the same way here in Western Maine with my 3 boys safe and sound after last night. Glad you’re feeling better. I wish I could join your class tonight as moral support to the others in NY and CT, NJ,RI… as so on…


  2. Nice message, Mary. Glad your problems are few! Ride on.



Leave a Reply

