h1

Hope

December 15, 2012

I love coming to Boston, this is our fourth year making this trip. I have a deep love for American History (I wish I would have paid better attention in elementary school, because I am teaching it to myself all over again). Boston of course has such deep American history. This is where so much happened and to be walking along the same grounds as the fathers of this country did is something I don’t take for granted.

Especially today.

I learned of the murders in Connecticut late yesterday and like the rest of the world I sank to my knees wondering….. why. It felt somehow ironic that I was walking on the very grounds where men gave their lives so that we could have the rights that we have at the very same moment that we are killing one another.

My heart hurts. All of our hearts hurt. I don’t know what the answers are. Right now people are throwing around big words and big feelings naturally. I want to start a damn revolution my feelings are so big right now. At the end of it all…. once again we are brought back to the basics of our lives and we are reminded how precious our lives are. How precious the lives of our children are.

As we walked through the streets of Boston I looked around. I still have faith in people. I looked at people of all kinds walking together, smiling together. Even the ones texting and talking on phones while walking around…. smiling, connecting, living. I believe still that we as a society are good people. I don’t think we are lost.

Call me an optimist, a dreamer and maybe delusional….. but I still believe that good can triumph over evil. I still believe in God. I still have faith and I will admit that my faith right now is shaky but it’s there.

Last evening I got to meet someone I have been wanting to meet since we connected on Facebook a while ago. A man named John Young. Check out his website here. He came down to Boston to meet with our family and it was the perfect ending to what felt like a heavy day. John is a little person. A dwarf. He began competing in triathlons in 2009, is a high school math teacher, a swim coach for his school, a father and a husband (not all in that order)! John told us the story of how be got involved in our sport, what his goals and ambitions are and the amazing things he has accomplished. Half Ironmans. Marathons. He told us about his bike and how that came to be, his wetsuit, his training. His amazing weight loss after a life changing diagnosis of sleep apnea.

What I admire about him…. is that he’s got that make it happen type of attitude. It’s what we needed to be around last night on an evening that felt so full of despair. You want to talk about someone who has their shine on…. John has his shine on. He radiates positivity, hope and desire.

john marathon 2

John is what I mean when I say that there are still good people in this world. He is one incredible man and I am beyond ecstatic that we finally got to meet.

john and mary

Thank you so much John for the chance to hang out. Thank you for all you have done to support myself, my family and the Teens Living With Cancer family.

I have to admit I have an obsession with people. I love people. I love to connect with people and experience everything about someone. I am not reserved or shy about that. I love to learn your story. I want to know what drives you. I want to know where you came from and I want to know where you are headed. I want to know what sustains you. I want to know what scares you.

Each person in this world has a story to tell and I want to learn it. I love social media for that reason. There is so much I learn from each person I meet, and I want to learn and grow every day in every way I can.

On such a heartbreaking day….. I went to bed with my faith and hope a little stronger, thanks to John.

2 comments

  1. “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

    ― Fred Rogers


    • “Look for the helpers” is a great way to find the positive in something so sad. Well said.



Leave a Reply

