h1

The helpers

April 19, 2013

It’s rare when I can’t sleep…. but this week sleep doesn’t even feel important. Nothing is really going through my mind except for the feeling of horror.

I don’t understand evil. Then again who does?

In too many ways it brought , me back to 9/11. I will never forget when the towers fell. Who was in there. Who was on the ground. I ran to the TV and put my hands on it, as if I could stop the building from falling. I can still feel the smooth glass of the screen underneath my hands as I felt my hands separate as I watched the most unbelievable thing I have ever seen…. the most horrifying moment ever… as it all just fell.

That feeling of… maybe it’s shock….. horror….. when the blast happens and you suddenly only have one way texts and voice mails and you call that voice mail over and over and over again just to hear the voice. Because if you hear the voice then it feels like there is hope…. even for a moment. It’s just something to hold onto.

The first person I reached out to was my friend Charlie. Boston is his home, he lives right in the city. He’s an athlete (my Kona travel pal), and he’s a photographer. I knew he had been at mile 11 but I was worried. We all were. Word came in that he was safe, as the texts all began to flood in…..

“He’s okay.”

“We are fine.”

“I haven’t heard from her yet but she was already finished.”

Those kinds of words became comforting. As we turned on CNN at home Luc handled everything very well. He knows Boston incredibly well and he too…. felt the sting of all of this. I assured him our friends were okay, and that more would be ok. As we watched the coverage together the first words that came to mind…. were words that came to everyone’s mind.

“When I was a boy, and would see scary things in the news…..  my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping’.”  Mr. Rogers

I smiled…. as Mr. Rogers was my generation. While he has passed his lessons and his teachings live on. Who would have thought that he could provide us comfort.

As Luc heard those words he began to point out the helpers. Slowly our attention turned from the bloodstained streets and images of the injured…. to the people, first responders…. to those who ran towards the victims and not away from. As first responders… that’s just what we do.

I have no words. I don’t understand evil. But I do have some photographs. Of the helpers. These photographs were taken by Charlie Abrahams.

look for the helpers.

 Boston 2 Boston 3 Boston 4 Boston 5Boston 1

Boston 6

Boston 7

Boston 9

Boston 10 Boston 11 Boston 12 Boston 13 Boston 14 Boston 15Boston Start Boston 17 Boston 18 Boston blast   Cathedral

Again, these photographs were taken by Charlie Abrahams.

Thank you…. to everyone who helped our friends and family in Boston on Monday and in the following days. Thank you for posting pictures on Facebook that you were ok. Thank you to google for developing their person finder. Thank you to those who ran towards the danger. Thank you to everyone who offered even a prayer.

Thank you Charlie for capturing these images.

I have no words for evil. I have no thought for it either.

The only way I know to conquer evil…. is to love bigger and live harder. United we stand. Stand up and live.

One comment

  1. Thank you for that reminder, “….look for the helpers”. Because we do focus on the horror (how can we not?), this reminder reframes the way we look at something so terrible to find something good in it.

    Thank you.



Leave a Reply

